Finally… Phil Collins

February 6, 2010

The MiniBishes bought me, by proxy, two music DVDs for my birthday. I think VHS was king last time I bought such an article, but having had my amp repaired recently after a long period up the creek, I was ready for some aural stimulation. I said aural.

I’m sure it demonstrates what I dinosaur I am to admit that the discs were Pink Floyd’s Pulse and Phil Collins’s Finally… The First Farewell Tour.

It’s BishWife’s birthday today, and while she is enjoying a morning in town, the MiniBishes and I snuck in a few tracks of the Phil Collins stuff and I must say, with only a slight twinge of shame, that it really is tremendous. In fact, the end brought a lump to my throat and a tear to my eye, as the band left to “go home” one by one, knowing that they (probably) were (almost) really saying goodbye (sort of). Was that a moistness in the eye even of the stoical Leland Sklar?

So, I decided it was high time to add PC to my short but slowly growing list of Heroes, and lo! it is done. A man who followed his dream (assuming his dream wasn’t acting) and moved millions with his music. Including me.

I’m sure he’ll feel better for knowing that.

Leave a Reply

