Billy Bragg

August 22, 2008

That Billy Bragg is good value for money. Only the other day I put the old “Life’s a Riot with Spy vs Spy” on the turntable (yes I still have one) and was transported back to the days when an EP only cost £2.99. It says it’s an album on the cover, but it plays at 45rpm and only has about six tracks on, so I call it a 12-inch EP. I can do that can’t I?

Anyway, quite apart from sounding just brilliant, Billy gives a stream of great lyrics, of which my favourites must be:

“I am the milkman of human kindness/I will leave an extra pint.”

And

“I saw three shooting stars last night/I wished on them/But they were only satellites/It’s wrong to wish on space hardware/I wish, I wish, I wish you cared.”

Now you can’t argue about the quality of those lines. The man is a genius, and if I wore a hat I’d take it off to him.

Those were the days!

One Response to “Billy Bragg”

  1. rob Says:

    saw billy bragg in 1986, i think (?), at the agora ballroom in west hartford, ct usa. he opened for big country, i believe. he played a blue guitar.

    there might have been 100 people in the room. we bought him a beer and apologised about the turnout. lovely man.


Leave a Reply

